The Secret of Landing a Job Interview!

This is Part one of the secret of landing a job interview (the rest is up to you), the advice given holds true in any industry, or position you are qualified for. After 25 years of helping students obtain jobs. I can say that all my advice has been tested. hundreds of times, and works!   Obviously you should not apply for a job which you are not  fit for. Example, a bus company is looking for a bus driver with 10 years experience, and you never drove a bus. With that said, here is advice that will never fail you.  I am assuming you do not currently have a job, but if you do, you will still find tips to help yourself, and share with others.

Finding a job – Finding a job is as easy as going online.  Many employers (Including Myself) use Craigs List to find potential employee’s. I assume most have heard of Craigs List, but in case you have not, the site is Craigslist.com, on the top right of there home page you will see “JOBS”.  Click on the category that best fits your job skills.  You can also use there search box on the left hand side.  Other Job sites are Jobs.com, Monster.com, Indeed.com.  Indeed.com is interesting because they search the web for all jobs, and then post them on there site.  So they are a very good site which has jobs from all the major job sites.  You can also google “‘I am looking for a job as___________”.

Applying for a job – Most employers will have you download your cover letter and resume.  Some job sites have a resume builder, which will help you make a professional resume, and cover letter.  There are also many free sites were you can make a professional resume.  I will discuss more about resumes later.

Remember you are not the only one applying for the job. In my experience when I am looking for help, I may receive over a hundred resumes!  Before publishing this blog, I spoke to many of my friends and acquaintances who advertise for help on a regular basis, and they confirm the same.  So it is important that you stand out, below I will outline the simple and easy ways to stand out, and get the interview. The interview is your first step.

How to answer Job listings.

It starts with the subject line – When you and others respond to the job posting, your cover letter, and resume is forwarded to the employer who posted the job.  The employer receives the responses via there email account.  The response will look something like this Subject – Criags List 675849405 Medical Assistant Needed

This is your opportunity to change what the employer will see.  If you leave the subject line alone it will appear as above, but you have the opportunity to change it before it is sent.  Look at examples below.

Subject ******Please read my resume I am the perfect Medical Assistant.

Subject – I am an excellent Medical Assistant and would love to work for your company!

Subject – HARD WORKER I am ready to start right away

I am sure you will agree that you will get the attention of the doctor or person in charge of hiring the medical assistant.  This is the first step to landing your interview.  Next is the cover letter.

Cover letter – You should write your cover letter the same way you speak.  I am amazed that 95% of cover letters I receive is a copy and pasted cover letter, which has nothing to do with the job I posted.  Many times it is written on a PhD level, with large words that I need a dictionary to define.  Of course some jobs require this kind of cover letter, and there are plenty of people who write on a PhD level. Remember if your highest level of education is High School, then that is how your cover letter should be written. Write you cover letter from your heart and make it short and sweet.  If the company you are applying to gives it’s name, then check out there web site, and comment about it. More on cover letters in part two.

The paragraph that will land you the interview – This is my tip that will help you land the interview. In your cover letter write – I am a hard worker, and not a clock watcher.  I have no problem staying until the job is complete when needed.  To prove that I am the best worker you will find, I am willing to work as an extern for the first week without pay.  If your company has a policy which requires pay, I will happily work for minimum wage for the first week as a trial.  I give 100% percent of myself and once you see the way I work,  you will be convinced that I am perfect for the job.

Yes you read right, volunteer to work for free.  If you are out of work, then you have the time, and remember you want to stand out, and impress the employer.  The employer properly received over 50 resumes, and wants to find someone fast,  He is also reading the same copy and pasted resumes. I am sure he does not want to spend hours sifting through all the resumes.  Also remember the employer has the edge as he has plenty of resumes and you have no job.  Once you are working, and prove yourself – you will gain the edge.

Look at it this way – If you are a guy how many times have you taken a girl out you just met. You wined and dinned her and spend a substantial amount of money for the perfect date. You really like this girl and are hoping for a second date and maybe something long term.  Then the unimaginable happens, there is no second date!  All that work and money for nothing!

If your a girl, how many times were you excited about a guy, and your first date.  You did every thing you could to make yourself the perfect girl.  You bought a new outfit, had your hair fixed perfect, you look like a million dollars. , Then the unimaginable happens to you, no second date!

I used the dating scenario as an example, but there are many others situations we can relate to.  Invest in yourself, and give of yourself.  What does loosing a weeks pay mean, if you get hired?  In 90% of situations if the employer likes you, he will pay you for the week.  I have been giving this advice to my graduates fir over 25 years, and it works.

You can also think of it this way.  There are job agencies who will find you a job, but guess what, they will charge you a weeks pay!

In the next part of this blog I will talk about my two oldest employee’s who actual started by working for me without pay!  I will also talk more about the cover letter, resume and other job finding tips.

What do you think?  Leave your comments!

Leave a Reply

